My Classroom

Each year I try to refresh the displays in my classroom. I don’t have a huge amount of wall space and there are a few displays I like to keep up all the time. These have key facts and information that I refer to often including a number line, square numbers, prime numbers, question stems etc. Last year, I used the whole of the back wall as an area for storing revision worksheets for my classes. These were there for any pupil looking for extra practice on a topic and proved useful throughout the year. Other than topping up the folders, this will stay the same this year.

So what will be new in my classroom this year? I have one thing I want to add. I saw this on Twitter last week and instantly knew I wanted this in my room.

https://twitter.com/AlexB19899/status/1287690176995762178

The idea shared by @AlexB19899 was to have ” 5 minute frayer time where pupils try it in pairs and using dictionaries to fill theirs in. Then a quick feedback where we fill the class one in together while they add to their own. Love hearing their examples/non examples.”

I can see me using this in a couple of different ways with my classes. The first being as a whole class teaching tool where I am introducing a new word/concept and I fill in the Frayer Model and then leave it up during the next few lessons as a reminder to the class. The second would be as a revision tool – I could ask the class to complete a Frayer Model for a given word/concept that they had previously met and then share the results on the class Frayer Model.

I am hoping that using this regularly with pupils will help improve their mathematical vocabulary as this is something they often struggle with.

2 thoughts on “My Classroom

Leave a comment