Goals for this year

I have published 76 posts since the start of 2016. Only 4 of these were published in 2017. What happened?

I’m not sure really. It could be that work became incredibly busy but more likely I didn’t feel I had a lot to share that was new. I had written so much in the first year of my blog and I had run out of things to say.

So I was so excited when I read this on Twitter:

This was exactly what I needed to get me back in my blogging ways. It might be that I don’t manage to blog every week but I am definitely going to try.

The first blog prompt set was:  “Goals”. As I was considering my goals for the upcoming year I read this blog by @druinok and loved the structure of it so decided to use it as well.

Here’s my Start – Stop – Continue Goals for 2017-18.

Start:

  • being more open about my feelings and opinions as I often keep my thoughts and feelings to myself and end up burying them away rather than dealing with them

 

  • working with other teachers in my department on shared planning. I am guilty of planning by myself at home and using the online world for resources and support. This is good but it could be better.  By planning together at school I can share my thoughts and ideas but also learn from others

 

Stop:

  • jumping from one new idea to another. I can get a bit carried away when I read about what other teachers are doing via Twitter or blogs. I then automatically want to try them out. This has led to me starting lots of different techniques or strategies but not seeing them through. My goal is to focus on implementing what I am doing already and making them the best they can be

Continue:

  • learning how to be an effective Principal Teacher. This is a job I have been doing for a year now and I still have so much to learn.

I am hoping to review these goals at the end of the first term to see how I am getting on with them.

 

2 thoughts on “Goals for this year

Leave a Reply

