3 New Blogs

As well as participating in #MTBoSBlaugust by writing blogs, I want to make a big effort to read more blogs. The main reason I started my own blog was being inspired from reading other blogs. There have been so many great blogs already in August and I have picked three which meant something to me.

6th Grade Intro to Negatives – by @MrKitMath

This post is about every students favourite subject – negative numbers. It talks about teaching in a context, use of number lines, how to represent multiplication and division visually. It hit home as I have taught negative numbers many times as a new topic and as review and still don’t feel like I truly teach it as well as I could. Something which needs to be shared and discussed more especially by those who do feel they have a great way to teach it.

Planning to Fail – by @ms_braga

This post discussed planning for Algebra 1 and how there is so much content to teach in one year. Being in Scotland, I don’t teach Algebra 1 but have found similar issues with National 5 maths course. I struggle with finding the balance between teaching the course in the best way possible versus being able to fit the entire course into the year. I have to cover the entire content as my students have an exam on it in May and it would be unfair to penalise them by skimping on content. With timings so tight, it leads to far more individual practice and rushing through new content almost every day. What is the solution?

First Day of School – by @ChrissieFicken

Very lovely post about the first day back at school. I loved the fact that it wasn’t all about rules, expectations and processes. Lots of group work, discussion and mathematical thinking. An excellent way to set the tone for the rest of the year. Plus, it made me want to find out about 31derful

I am really looking forward to reading many more blogs in August and the rest of the year. I know I will learn a lot from them and it will only help me to be a better teacher.

 

Leave a Reply

