My First Blog

I have never been one to embrace technology. Shocking, I know. However, during the Summer holidays I started reading other maths teachers blogs and Twitter feeds. Eventually in August I plucked up the courage to sign up for Twitter. It has been the most amazing experience. I have found the most incredible set of teachers who love to share and discuss all things mathematical. The number of ideas for lessons and the way to teach different topics that I have gained in the last term has been superb.

Then I came across a post about Exploring the MTBOS. It was offering the chance to be mentored by someone with experience in blogging. I jumped at the chance.

I had been considering writing a blog for a while but kept talking myself out of it. I suppose I always feel that I have nothing worthwhile to contribute and that everyone else has more interesting thoughts and ideas to share. But .. what is the point of my blog? It is for me to reflect on my teaching and learning and to (maybe/hopefully) share this with others.

A few things to tell you about me:

  • I have been teaching maths for 11 years now (crazy how quickly time goes)
  • I teach in Scotland to pupils aged 11 to 18
  • I love puzzles and games that make you think
  • I love fractions – and try to encourage their use wherever possible

So this is me writing my blog. I’m not one for words so I imagine my posts will be short and straight to the point and hopefully include some pictures.

4 thoughts on “My First Blog

Leave a Reply

